Link is copied to clipboard.

Lumbini Master Plan

705 people have read this story


Introduction Lumbini and Lumbini Master Plan (Near Gate No. 5)

The Greater Lumbini Area (GLA) covers an area of 5260 sqkm and includes Rupandehi, Nawalparasi and Kapilvastu districts in the southern plains of western Nepal. The area is a home to many archaeological and religious sites relevant to Lord Sakyamuni Buddha’s life, including his birthplace Lumbini.

Besides Lumbini, which is in UNESCO World Heritage list, the Greater Lumbini Area (GLA) includes many important Buddhist sites like Tilaurakot, Kudan, Gotihawa, Niglihawa, Araurakot, Sagarhawa, Sisaniya, Devadaha and Ramagrama. Considering the archaeological and spiritual values, Tilaurakot and Ramagrama are enlisted as Tentative World Heritage sites by UNESCO.

The birthplace of Lord Sakyamuni Buddha in Lumbini, one of UNESCO World Heritage Sites, is the abode of peace and an ultimate pilgrimage to the Buddhist devotees and peace lovers from around the world. Lord Sakyamuni Buddha was born here in 623 BC and preached the universal message of peace and compassion; therefore, it is regarded one of the most sacred places for people who believe in Buddhism. Buddhist pilgrims, peace lovers and general visitors from around the world visit Lumbini to pay homage to Lord Sakyamuni Buddha and observe the sanctity and shrines that are hallowed by the birth of the Buddha.

Lumbini Master Plan

The Lumbini Master Plan, spread in an area of 1×3 square mile, oriented along the north-south axis, encompasses three zones (1) the Sacred Garden, (2) the Monastic Zone, and (3) the New Lumbini Village, based on the notion of the path to enlightenment. Each of the zones covers an area of a square mile.

Learn more about places to visit in Lumbini …

Our Supporters


Discover exactly where it is on the map


Share your thoughts

0 Discussion
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments